kama sutra

kama sutra

Kama Sutra


The Kama Sutra  is an ancient Indian Hind text written by Vatsyayana. It is widely considered to be the standard work on human s-e-xual behaviour in Sanskrit literature.


A portion of the work consists of practical advice on s-e-xual intercourse. It is largely in prose, with many inserted anustubh poetry verses. “Kama” which is one of the four goals of Hindu life, means desire including s-e-xual desire, the latter being the subject of the textbook, and “sutra” literally means a thread or line that holds things together, and more metaphorically refers to an aphorism , or a collection of such aphorisms in the form of a manual.


Some Indian philosophies follow the “four main goals of life”, known as the purusharthas, in order of importance:

Kama: Desire
Artha: (Material) prosperity
Dharma: Virtuous living
Moksha: Liberation.


Of the first three, virtue is the highest goal, a secure life the second, and pleasure the least important. When motives conflict, the higher ideal is to be followed. Thus, in making money, virtue must not be compromised, but earning a living should take precedence over pleasure; however, there are exceptions.


In childhood, Vatsyayana says, a person should learn how to make a living; youth is the time for pleasure, and as years pass, one should concentrate on living virtuously and hope to escape the cycle of rebirth.


The Kama Sutra acknowledges that the senses can be dangerous: ‘Just as a horse in full gallop, blinded by the energy of his own speed, pays no attention to any post or hole or ditch on the path, so two lovers, blinded by passion, in the friction of s-e-xual battle, are caught up in their fierce energy and pay no attention to danger’


The Kama Sutra is an ancient Indian text that was written to help teach men on how to have a happy marriage.A lot of people think that it’s just about s-e-x, but that’s not strictly true.


The Kama Sutra is made up of seven sections but only the second, called ‘On S-e-xual Union’, details different s-e-xual positions.

This part of it is illustrated with drawings to show couples different ways of having s-e-x.


Kama Sutra positions

1. Widely opened

2. Clasping position

3. Indrani

4. Milk and Water Embrace

5. The Tigress

6. The Congress of the Crow

7. The Lotus

8. Suspended Congress

9. Splitting of a Bamboo

10. The Pair of Tongs